August UnderBelly Newsletter

And just like that, it's already August! This is the first time, I think ever, that I've genuinely looked forward to sending a newsletter so that's got to be a good sign.

Check out what has been bringing the UnderBelly team some extra joy this past month.

Olivia's Cool Shit

CEO

Portrait of Olivia

AbeBooks.com

Reading & buying books is probably my #1 favorite way of treating myself but unfortunately, books get expensive quickly. And for this, Abebooks.com has become a must have site in my household. It allows you to easily buy gently used books from independent book sellers & libraries and save books to a wish list. Local bookstores such as A Room of One’s Own and Boswell’s Book still have my heart when I’m looking to get lost in the experience of finding a good book.

The Bear: Hulu.

Where do I even begin with this TV show?! The premise is simple: A world-renowned chef has to come back to run his family's sandwich shop after a tragedy. This show is a dramedy, extra heavy on both drama and comedy, and is by far the most realistic representation of working in the service industry that I've ever seen. It's beautiful. It's intense. It's cinematic and the food looks so fricken good.

Liz's Cool Shit

Art Director

Portrait of Liz

Down to Earth with Zac Efron: Netflix

I am only a few episodes into this Netflix original, but let me tell you, I am hooked. A documentary series hosted by our beloved Troy Bolton from childhood? Count me in. Each episode dives into a different country and explores the many definitions of sustainable living. Within it, you get microdoses of inspiring communities, unique history, wild food, and adventure, all interwoven through the lens of sustainability. What I have found particularly unique is the juxtaposition of environmental innovation that either stemmed from, or was inspired by historic practices that have always prioritized working with the land, rather than against it. So if you’re looking for an inspiring yet light watch at the end of your day that makes you feel good, getta watching.

Stojo: Good Storage Containers

To piggyback off my food huggers from last month, I’m here to give you all practical, cute, and quality food storage options yet again. These (massive) containers are collapsable which makes storing them in the cabinet ridiculously easy. No more disorganized lid game in this house! Additionally, they are lightweight but sturdy, which is a huge upgrade from my old glass containers I had before - as I am no longer worried about them falling out of the cabinet and potentially breaking. The only downside is that they are quite expensive, but this is my long-winded way of saying they’re worth it.

Sarah's Cool Shit

UX/UI & Web Designer

Colorful Portrait of UX/UI Designer Sarah

Wisdome L.A: An Immersive Art Park

I would absolutely LOVE LOVE to go to this, this first popped up on my radar because I like immersive art + projection mapping, Instagram did its thing and pushed this over to me. I would love to experience something visually immersive, with the traditional music and community of people - such as the daft punk "journey" they have in august. This would be my dream dj gig.

Laura's Cool Shit

Design Intern

Portrait of Laura

A Room of One's Own: Virginia Wolf

One of my favorite reads of this year so far has probably been "A Room of One's Own," This small book of 114 pages is an extended essay that Woolf delivered at Newnham College and Girton College, two women's colleges at the University of Cambridge. It is an extraordinary book written in such a unique way that the author takes you on a journey through her mind in hopes that you can understand women's issues and concerns at the time. The theme: women and fiction. This topic is discussed throughout the book and explains the difficulty for women to be recognized in the literary world (women, as it seems, are often the most preferred subject matter of male writers even though they were given very little autonomy in the real world).

Thor: Love and Thunder

I am a Marvel fan and my FAVORITE superhero of all time is Thor, so when July 8th came around I was ready! However, life had other plans and I got COVID which meant I had to wait two weeks to watch the movie... but it was so WORTH IT! I am a fan of Taika's movies and sense of humor, and ever since he started to direct Thor movies, I fell for them. I know that some people didn't like the latest one because it was so quirky and full of jokes but honestly that's what makes it amazing! sometimes life is hard (especially right now with everything that's been happening) so when you're able to watch your favorite superhero from Norse mythology and have fun while at it, you take that opportunity!! and laugh while he kicks ass with Jane (aka mighty Thor)

What can I say, Thor's and Mjölnir's reunion was a highlight to be honest! Also, the cast was on point, and the representation too!

So, thanks to the Taikification of Thor, life was a little bit sweeter in July

UnderBelly Featured Design

Logo | Web Design | Illustrations

Four illustration pilates characters doing a variety of different mat and apparatus poses.

We had SO MUCH FUN working on the designs for the launch of the new Madison East Side Pilates Studio: Purple Door Pilates. They are currently open for private lessons with Group Classes starting Sept 1st! Take a peek at their website to see what they are about and be sure to follow them on social media to get updates on upcoming specials and events.