December's Cool Shit

'Tis the season of sappy movies, holiday markets, and of course other cool things that have nothing to do with the holidays.

Olivia's Cool Shit

CEO

Portrait of Olivia

Soul (2020) - A Pixar film

A few weeks ago, my partner and I went on an animation binge and decided to watch the Pixar 2020 movie Soul. I remember hearing a little about this movie when it came out, but it’s safe to say other news overshadowed this incredible gem of a film. The film covers the central theme of what makes a good life and by gosh, this movie hit home. It absolutely led to some beautiful conversations in my household that pairs perfectly with this time of year.

Movie poster for the Pixar film, Soul.

TMBD

Holiday Edition: Local Markets

I fricken love the holiday season. Twinkle lights. Eggnog. Excuses to get cozy inside and watch terrible made-for-tv romance movies. But one of my favorite elements of late is going to as many holiday makers markets as I can find. And it appears that I am not alone in this love because every year there seems to be more! Below are just a few markets that are happening over the next few weeks between Madison and Milwaukee.

Liz's Cool Shit

Art Director

Portrait of Liz

App: Insight Timer

Lykee Li has been a favorite of mine for awhile now, but considering I only listen from the top down on my “liked” Spotify playlist, I forgot about her for a minute. She’s an electronic pop artist with a sound that creates a perfect mid-morning to afternoon workflow. You’re able to sing along without even knowing your singing, but then awake from your trance and feel great. If you’re going to start anywhere, I’d say start with her “so sad so sexy” album, but I love them all.

Laura's Cool Shit

Design Intern

Portrait of Laura

Martijn Doolard: YouTube Channel

Martijn Doolard’s YouTube channel is the gem I found this month. The holidays coming up really stresses me out and make the days feel hectic and fast. However, Martijn’s videos always calms me down, grounds me, makes me breathe a little slower, and makes me enjoy every second of what I’m watching because the cinematography and his journey in the Italian alps is exactly what I need. A little scape from my life. Martjin Doolard “is a photographer, filmmaker and travel writer from the Netherlands. He finished two long-distance bicycle journeys from Amsterdam to Singapore and Vancouver to Patagonia. Currently, he is renovating and living in a remote stone cabin in the Italian Alps.”

UnderBelly Featured Design

Illustration | Formatting | Printing

This year marks the third year of the UnderBelly Gift Giving Guide! What started as a way to support local makers in 2020 has become an annual tradition of featuring 30+ local makers and small businesses through our printed and digital zine!

This year we were able to print 300, 9-page guides, which if you do that math is over 2700 pages (every print project runs into challenges) that needed to be printed, folded, stuffed, and stapled before being delivered to 15 small businesses in the Madison & Milwaukee area. Check out the digital guide on our website!